Quitting Blitz

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

sixty_three #1 Posted 11 February 2018 - 04:27 PM

Senior Sergeant

• Player
  • 9598 battles

This’ll be my final post on this forum, as I’ve decided to quit playing Blitz.

I started playing Blitz to see how it stacked up against my memories of WW2 wargaming, using metal miniatures, back in the 1970’s - 1980’s.  Blitz was my first MMO game, and it was quite a learning curve at first.  But thanks in part to the advice I read on forum posts, and some specific advice from members of this community, I was able to progress to reach a reasonable standard of play.

My objectives were, after I decided I quite liked Blitz, to fight in all the vehicles I’d used whilst wargaming 30-40 years ago.  The final one being to become competent in the “Heavy Churchill”. Other objectives suggested by WG came and went; but as a play4fun tanker, I’d never be competitive at Tier VIII and above.  A brief try out of the SuperPershing rather confirmed this to me.

Part of my inspiration for wargaming stemmed from the real-life experiences of my uncle.  He took part in the D-Day landings and ended up fighting his way through Europe, across the Rhine, and ended up seeing for himself the horrors of Belsen.  

My uncles funeral took place a few days ago.  He lived into his 90’s, 70 years longer than many of his comrades.  I feel sad for them as much as I feel sad for my Uncle Bob.

All the ranting, etc., that goes on in game - the general pettiness of some people, it’s all completely trivial.  Utterly pointless in the wider scheme of things.  But learning how to play this game better, learning how the game itself works, and how best to conduct oneself on a forum like this, well they are worthwhile skills to have.  So if that’s your goal in being here and playing the game, may your studies be fruitful.

All the best,

sixty-three

For my military knowledge, though I'm plucky and adventury,