Jump to content


Lag


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

tongue_puncher #1 Posted 10 July 2019 - 02:00 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 14163 battles
  • 4
  • [D-D2]
  • Member since:
    04-30-2018
so since updating to 6.1 i have had major issues with lag, ping has been at a normal level 30-40 but loss has been upwards of 13% the game is literally jumping all over and its making it so much more difficult to play, anyone out there know how to fix it ?

_RagingRabbit_ #2 Posted 10 July 2019 - 02:35 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13702 battles
  • 806
  • [FTC-4]
  • Member since:
    08-20-2016

I came here to open the exact same topic. It's totally unplayable for me. Has nothing to do with my connection because I have tried on our neighbours internet as well and on 4G. Loss ranging from 5-20 percent (most of the time around 10) but normal ping. Other games no issues at all. 

 

 



PanzerPsycho68 #3 Posted 10 July 2019 - 03:42 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 27479 battles
  • 360
  • [PFI]
  • Member since:
    05-21-2016

View Post_RagingRabbit_, on 10 July 2019 - 03:35 PM, said:

I came here to open the exact same topic. It's totally unplayable for me. Has nothing to do with my connection because I have tried on our neighbours internet as well and on 4G. Loss ranging from 5-20 percent (most of the time around 10) but normal ping. Other games no issues at all. 

 

 

 

Same situation here.  I alread worried, because they are working on the Cables in my neighborhood.

It is good to know that others experience the exact same problems so I don't need to worry anymore.


Deputy Leader of Panzer-Vernichter Clan ( PFI ) and dedicated German Tank Driver 

 


Mjr_Eazy #4 Posted 10 July 2019 - 04:44 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28251 battles
  • 6,046
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    04-26-2017

If you look at the 6.1 topic in Current Update part of forum you will see tons of people complaining....

It’s SNAFU for WG after a release :(


547146227.png

 


llo1 #5 Posted 10 July 2019 - 05:02 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28554 battles
  • 5,537
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014
Yup, every time WG increase the development of the game, and simply do not seem to increase the servers, then the lag is simply going to get worse for those players which already suffer lag from previous updates!

jonty_2014 #6 Posted 10 July 2019 - 05:05 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 67144 battles
  • 4,996
  • [EMRS]
  • Member since:
    09-23-2014
Give it a day or two.... do game updates come from the gameplay servers?

If so, every update will see some server deterioration temporarily.

Unless some IT whizz can say that’s not how it works...

Empros is recruiting! Message me in game to apply.


Mjr_Eazy #7 Posted 10 July 2019 - 05:47 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28251 battles
  • 6,046
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    04-26-2017

What they have is a cluster with 2 nodes, EU_P1 and EU_P2, in theory each node could be many actual servers but from WG’s perspective they treat each node as a single logical server...

When they do a release WG update one node to the new version, make sure it’s working before then updating the 2nd one.  It means you could switch back to the old version easy by pointing everyone at that one but...

It does mean they effectively cut capacity in 1/2 until both are upgraded, what we’re seeing with lag and the problems is one node being  overwhelmed as it cannot cope with the increased demand...

Also given how long it is taking to resolve it looks like each node is indeed many physical servers and it just takes time to get em updated, plus my bet is they focus on getting RU nodes done 1st as we’re second class citizens...

It’s called Blue-Green deployment and is a very widely used strategy but like their testing I just think WG are incompetent at it hence another FUBAR release!

https://martinfowler.com/bliki/BlueGreenDeployment.html

HTH

 


547146227.png

 


Strummer54 #8 Posted 10 July 2019 - 05:53 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 59142 battles
  • 1,467
  • Member since:
    07-11-2014

View PostMjr_Eazy, on 10 July 2019 - 05:47 PM, said:

What they have is a cluster with 2 nodes, EU_P1 and EU_P2, in theory each node could be many actual servers but from WG’s perspective they treat each node as a single logical server...

When they do a release WG update one node to the new version, make sure it’s working before then updating the 2nd one.  It means you could switch back to the old version easy by pointing everyone at that one but...

It does mean they effectively cut capacity in 1/2 until both are upgraded, what we’re seeing with lag and the problems is one node being  overwhelmed as it cannot cope with the increased demand...

Also given how long it is taking to resolve it looks like each node is indeed many physical servers and it just takes time to get em updated, plus my bet is they focus on getting RU nodes done 1st as we’re second class citizens...

It’s called Blue-Green deployment and is a very widely used strategy but like their testing I just think WG are incompetent at it hence another FUBAR release!

https://martinfowler.com/bliki/BlueGreenDeployment.html

HTH

 

 

They need some corresponding Big Ears as well! 

 

 


SMERSH_T #9 Posted 10 July 2019 - 09:00 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 32601 battles
  • 604
  • [EU]
  • Member since:
    12-06-2014
It more of a loss than a lag thing, having around 10% loss causes the jumps.

 


Mjr_Eazy #10 Posted 10 July 2019 - 09:07 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28251 battles
  • 6,046
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    04-26-2017

I was having both

a. lag - the server(s) just couldn't process the load; and 

b. (packet loss) - the network switches/firewalls etc can't cope with the volume of data and connections

 

Having said that it seems ok now, I guess they got everything updated!

 


547146227.png

 


SMERSH_T #11 Posted 10 July 2019 - 09:15 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 32601 battles
  • 604
  • [EU]
  • Member since:
    12-06-2014
I have no packet loss on the NA server. Last night, it was there, so they fixed it.

Edited by SMERSH_T, 10 July 2019 - 09:16 PM.

 


jylpah #12 Posted 10 July 2019 - 09:49 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 19210 battles
  • 4,730
  • [AFK]
  • Member since:
    08-05-2014

I think it is the same issue after every update. WG is saving money and not stacking enough servers after the launch. Few days later there will be less players and ping is getting better. Just search on the forums and the same "ping is bad" complaint is repeated after every single update.

 

In addition I have bad ping (packet loss) thanks the my new shitty ISP ("fibre", but the last 15m through cable, packet loss in core network). DNA Finland sucks. 5G come to save my WR. :izmena:


Just a little buff for Panther II, please 

Jylpah @EU  Jylpah @Asia  Tier V-X Tank Ranking   Blitz-tools   


_RagingRabbit_ #13 Posted 11 July 2019 - 11:37 AM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13702 battles
  • 806
  • [FTC-4]
  • Member since:
    08-20-2016
Still not fixed... My premium time is ticking away without me being able to play properly. I think I'm going to take a break from the game for at least a week now. Once I stop playing I usually stay away for weeks/months though :facepalm:


_RagingRabbit_ #14 Posted 11 July 2019 - 05:04 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13702 battles
  • 806
  • [FTC-4]
  • Member since:
    08-20-2016
Now the game does not work anymore on my Macbook... crashes everytime while opening. 


Adybotos33 #15 Posted 11 July 2019 - 07:12 PM

    Lance-corporal

  • Player
  • 21226 battles
  • 16
  • [LL]
  • Member since:
    11-30-2014

Same here, on my ipad. It kicks me out during loading...

very annoying....



rm47 #16 Posted 11 July 2019 - 07:27 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 9372 battles
  • 3
  • [BRE4K]
  • Member since:
    05-12-2011
Same is happening to me since one hour ago, kicking me every time I tried to enter from iPad and PC alike. Sometimes, I've got an error message telling another player has the same nick...hope WG fixes it very soon...but my one day premium account sadly is wasted now 

DumbApe #17 Posted 12 July 2019 - 12:32 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 27155 battles
  • 1,113
  • [HRG]
  • Member since:
    08-10-2017
My issue today has been that the game starts and then freezes up for 20-60 secs then comes back usually leaving me looking at a burning wreck. Must have happened at least a dozen times tonight before I jacked it in

          Old Ape new tricks. Go Ape Be happy Party On!    

Hell Raiser Gang [HRG] -   Bananas in aures habeo. Non possum te audiunt.


_RagingRabbit_ #18 Posted 13 July 2019 - 03:05 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 13702 battles
  • 806
  • [FTC-4]
  • Member since:
    08-20-2016
Again loss of 10-15 percent. Thx for ruining all my games again today WG. Fix those damn servers once and for all! Can't be that hard to make sure the servers can process the load. 


llo1 #19 Posted 13 July 2019 - 08:09 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 28554 battles
  • 5,537
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View Post_RagingRabbit_, on 13 July 2019 - 03:05 PM, said:

Again loss of 10-15 percent. Thx for ruining all my games again today WG. Fix those damn servers once and for all! Can't be that hard to make sure the servers can process the load. 

 

look at the typical screenshot showing the typical problems I seem to be getting

- ping over 4000

 - packet loss between 20-30%

- typical for a recent update, and normal for competition days!

Attached Files

  • Attached File   IMG_0788.JPG   172.96K

Edited by llo1, 13 July 2019 - 08:11 PM.


Woefk68 #20 Posted 13 July 2019 - 08:29 PM

    Private

  • Player
  • 6216 battles
  • 9
  • [PAN00]
  • Member since:
    12-08-2016

Please install Pingplotter; run it. Raise a ticket and attach the pingplotter file. How to do it?

 

https://eu.wargaming.net/support/en/products/wotb/article/15430/






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users