Jump to content


Ping and Packet loss is making the game unplayable again!

Stability Packet Loss Ping

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

DumbApe #1 Posted 18 March 2020 - 03:52 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 33670 battles
  • 1,477
  • [HRG]
  • Member since:
    08-10-2017
On P2 this afternoon with only around 12000 on the server the game was unplayable. Ping was spiking really badly and Packet Loss a consistent issue in most games.  Throw in the muppets playing and those others that were doubtless affected and Blitz was ruined. 

          Old Ape new tricks. Go Ape Be happy Party On!    

Hell Raiser Gang [HRG] -   Bananas in aures habeo. Non possum te audiunt.


llo1 #2 Posted 18 March 2020 - 05:32 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31593 battles
  • 7,040
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014
Packet loss is what I am experiencing. Ping doesn’t really consistently cause a problem, with only the occasional game with a rapid increase in ping, most games ping is ok.

Corpsetaker #3 Posted 18 March 2020 - 05:33 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21504 battles
  • 498
  • [INTBF]
  • Member since:
    09-07-2016

View Postllo1, on 18 March 2020 - 05:32 PM, said:

Packet loss is what I am experiencing. Ping doesn’t really consistently cause a problem, with only the occasional game with a rapid increase in ping, most games ping is ok.


I'm getting it really bad when a group of tanks get close together.



llo1 #4 Posted 18 March 2020 - 05:38 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31593 battles
  • 7,040
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View PostCorpsetaker, on 18 March 2020 - 05:33 PM, said:


I'm getting it really bad when a group of tanks get close together.


I seem to have what is apparently lag when there are groups of RED tanks, but not really with the green tanks!

A lot of times I find that my tank stops when a Red tank aims at me....this is very inconvenient as it means I regularly get shot when not moving, and find that every red then notices me stopped and I get a focus fire!



Corpsetaker #5 Posted 18 March 2020 - 05:40 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21504 battles
  • 498
  • [INTBF]
  • Member since:
    09-07-2016

View Postllo1, on 18 March 2020 - 05:38 PM, said:


I seem to have what is apparently lag when there are groups of RED tanks, but not really with the green tanks!

A lot of times I find that my tank stops when a Red tank aims at me....this is very inconvenient as it means I regularly get shot when not moving, and find that every red then notices me stopped and I get a focus fire!


When I do max damage and get the yellow explanation point with the ding I get a momentary freeze.



llo1 #6 Posted 18 March 2020 - 05:48 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31593 battles
  • 7,040
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View PostCorpsetaker, on 18 March 2020 - 05:40 PM, said:


When I do max damage and get the yellow explanation point with the ding I get a momentary freeze.


Max damage!!! With the lag (& rnd) I never seem to actually hit where aimed, so rarely do max damage, and frequently do what i think is  less than minimum.



Corpsetaker #7 Posted 18 March 2020 - 05:51 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 21504 battles
  • 498
  • [INTBF]
  • Member since:
    09-07-2016

View Postllo1, on 18 March 2020 - 05:48 PM, said:


Max damage!!! With the lag (& rnd) I never seem to actually hit where aimed, so rarely do max damage, and frequently do what i think is  less than minimum.


I swear I just had a battle where I was point blank and there was no red or anything with my Glacial and I've never bounced that many shots in my life. 



llo1 #8 Posted 18 March 2020 - 06:34 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31593 battles
  • 7,040
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View PostCorpsetaker, on 18 March 2020 - 05:51 PM, said:


I swear I just had a battle where I was point blank and there was no red or anything with my Glacial and I've never bounced that many shots in my life. 


“noob protect”!



CaptainIndia #9 Posted 18 March 2020 - 09:09 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 3886 battles
  • 265
  • [ETHOS]
  • Member since:
    11-21-2016

Whenever I try connecting to Server P2, I could never connect. Its always the Server P1 that gets connected automatically. And yes, Lag and Packet loss has been a problem since Mad Games.

 

Oh here is a video during these difficult times:

 


Edited by CaptainIndia, 18 March 2020 - 09:44 PM.

 


DumbApe #10 Posted 18 March 2020 - 09:53 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 33670 battles
  • 1,477
  • [HRG]
  • Member since:
    08-10-2017

Well if today is a sign of how things are going to be as everyone works from home and the kids are on holiday then I am going to park up all my tanks and walk away for a while.   Absolutely unbelievable today,  aside from the network issues the sheer muppetry on display at pretty much every tier beggars belief.  The MM seemed to think I deserved to be bottom tier in 8 out of 10 games and then gave me the added joy of folks who thought it was funny to spin in spawn for the whole game not just once but four times in a TOON!  The concept of team play was obviously completely alien to most and the only support I saw in most games was when 'players' were right behind blocking the reverse.

 

A most frustrating day!  I wonder if the MM has a Karma subroutine as things have been going well recently?

 


          Old Ape new tricks. Go Ape Be happy Party On!    

Hell Raiser Gang [HRG] -   Bananas in aures habeo. Non possum te audiunt.


Mjr_Leicht #11 Posted 18 March 2020 - 10:02 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9733 battles
  • 491
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    01-21-2019

Wait until next week when the UK schools are closed it’s gonna get a lot worse!

Not bothered playing today may try later but really losing my interest in the game, I don’t mind losing, I just wanna have fun and that has been pretty thin on the ground before and after mad games...


560273467.png

Col_Foster #12 Posted 18 March 2020 - 10:15 PM

    Senior Sergeant

  • Player
  • 66890 battles
  • 625
  • [SHADO]
  • Member since:
    12-09-2012
Had a lot of the same problems and an unusual one today, twice, screen went blank and thrown out of game, then when logged back in get the message that graphics settings are to high, bull droppings !
Clan leader.

Mjr_Leicht #13 Posted 18 March 2020 - 10:36 PM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9733 battles
  • 491
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    01-21-2019

View Postefoster29, on 18 March 2020 - 10:15 PM, said:

Had a lot of the same problems and an unusual one today, twice, screen went blank and thrown out of game, then when logged back in get the message that graphics settings are to high, bull droppings !


That is a default message, I get it when I go back in if I close the game after dying mid-battle...


560273467.png

DumbApe #14 Posted 18 March 2020 - 11:12 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 33670 battles
  • 1,477
  • [HRG]
  • Member since:
    08-10-2017

View PostMjr_Leicht, on 18 March 2020 - 10:02 PM, said:

Wait until next week when the UK schools are closed it’s gonna get a lot worse!

Not bothered playing today may try later but really losing my interest in the game, I don’t mind losing, I just wanna have fun and that has been pretty thin on the ground before and after mad games...

 

 

you’re a tech Womble is it simply not investing enough in the tech or is it more likely to be a net infrastructure issue?


          Old Ape new tricks. Go Ape Be happy Party On!    

Hell Raiser Gang [HRG] -   Bananas in aures habeo. Non possum te audiunt.


llo1 #15 Posted 18 March 2020 - 11:34 PM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 31593 battles
  • 7,040
  • [1RTR]
  • Member since:
    06-27-2014

View Postefoster29, on 18 March 2020 - 10:15 PM, said:

Had a lot of the same problems and an unusual one today, twice, screen went blank and thrown out of game, then when logged back in get the message that graphics settings are to high, bull droppings !


Had that, complained to WG only to be told that it is my equipment...I have an iPad less than 3 months old.......WG answer and help .....B******* (add you own word for totally useless, zero customer care help).

 



Replicant_2 #16 Posted 19 March 2020 - 07:21 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 12031 battles
  • 1,186
  • [HRG]
  • Member since:
    10-08-2018

View PostDumbApe, on 18 March 2020 - 09:53 PM, said:

Well if today is a sign of how things are going to be as everyone works from home and the kids are on holiday then I am going to park up all my tanks and walk away for a while.   Absolutely unbelievable today,  aside from the network issues the sheer muppetry on display at pretty much every tier beggars belief.  The MM seemed to think I deserved to be bottom tier in 8 out of 10 games and then gave me the added joy of folks who thought it was funny to spin in spawn for the whole game not just once but four times in a TOON!  The concept of team play was obviously completely alien to most and the only support I saw in most games was when 'players' were right behind blocking the reverse.

 

A most frustrating day!  I wonder if the MM has a Karma subroutine as things have been going well recently?

 


Daytime battles were absolutely atrocious, I give you that. Lost 6 out of 7 battles played in the JPanther and this is my most successful tank of all time, courtesy of recent buffs.

Thngs have improved in the evening when there were less kids (or the muppetry was more diluted by more experienced players ).

I also started to play a lot more carefully, staying behind my team mates. Made less average damage but survived a lot more an finished the day at 59%.

 

So next time you play, remember:

 


 


Edited by Replicant_2, 19 March 2020 - 07:22 AM.

All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die.


Mjr_Leicht #17 Posted 19 March 2020 - 08:13 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9733 battles
  • 491
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    01-21-2019

View PostMjr_Leicht, on 18 March 2020 - 10:02 PM, said:

Wait until next week when the UK schools are closed it’s gonna get a lot worse!

Not bothered playing today may try later but really losing my interest in the game, I don’t mind losing, I just wanna have fun and that has been pretty thin on the ground before and after mad games...

 

View PostDumbApe, on 18 March 2020 - 11:12 PM, said:

you’re a tech Womble is it simply not investing enough in the tech or is it more likely to be a net infrastructure issue?

Que?  You lost me m8, what on earth has your answer got to do with school holidays?


560273467.png

Mjr_Leicht #18 Posted 22 March 2020 - 04:48 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9733 battles
  • 491
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    01-21-2019

Moved from another thread...

View Postllo1, on 21 March 2020 - 08:53 PM, said:

Here you are Jylpah, pingplotter showing WG server lost packets!

Does this prove that it’s WG problem?

View PostMjr_Leicht, on 21 March 2020 - 09:14 PM, said:

@llo1 there should be a PL% column too, as they may be lost b4 they hit WG...

I usually run it on a computer when on phone as wired to router and if that looks ok I know it’s my wifi connection...

That shows it, you maybe able to add it to the displayed columns...

That red flag next to hop 8 looks suspect on the pc version you get those when there is Packet Loss!

This section in the manual explains it pretty well...

https://www.pingplotter.com/manual/theinterfacegraphs.html

Altho that is for pc version, iOS one should have some help somewhere too...

View Postjylpah, on 21 March 2020 - 11:44 PM, said:

@ilo, that is very serious packet loss indeed. I have never witnessed that. What is the server you are pinging? I always use login.wotblitz.eu. I have never bothered to check what server the iPad actually connects. 
 

Does PingPlotter show packet loss to any node before the WG server?

View Postllo1, on 22 March 2020 - 12:25 AM, said:


occasionally to node 8 as in the previous screendump that Mjr_ Leicht commented on. And sometimes on the jump previous to WG.

Whenever I have sent it in to WG, they have only commented that there is no problem their end, so I have simply stopped reporting it after I had so many tickets in the system they stopped me posting  any for 3 months!

Classic WG but from those screenshots it does look like it’s not them...

I’m no expert though but from what I understand of the graphs and I’m guessing here as not all the info is there it does look like it’s before them,..

I did a search on the suspect hop - #8 - and there seems to be a bunch of stuff come up about issues with telia, what ISP did you use before and what’s the new one?

https://www.bing.com/search?q=ldn-bb3-link.telia&form=APIPH1&PC=APPL


Edited by Mjr_Leicht, 22 March 2020 - 04:51 AM.

560273467.png

jylpah #19 Posted 23 March 2020 - 08:37 AM

    First Sergeant

  • Player
  • 25117 battles
  • 5,426
  • [SKUX]
  • Member since:
    08-05-2014
Hey guys, what server you are pinging? I use "login.wotblitz.eu", but that is not the actual game server. And I do not know are the two server clusters physically located in different places or not.

BlitzAnalysiz.com  In-depth analysis of WoT Blitz game statistics

Jylpah @EU  Jylpah @Asia  Blitz-tools  


Mjr_Leicht #20 Posted 23 March 2020 - 10:32 AM

    Sergeant

  • Player
  • 9733 battles
  • 491
  • [BT_SV]
  • Member since:
    01-21-2019

@jylpah that’s what I ping as it’s what WG suggest...

 

but you can try to ping the server you’re connected to...

 

I’m guessing it’s more than 2 physical servers”;), according to this they are in Luxembourg and the Netherlands...

http://wiki.wargaming.net/en/Servers

 

Addresses to ping for the 2 servers are on that page,  not tried it though....

 


Edited by Mjr_Leicht, 23 March 2020 - 10:36 AM.

560273467.png




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users